Mayor Shull elected to Municipal Association board

Mayor Lancer Shull has become the first member of the Batesburg-Leesville Town Council elected to serve on the Board of Directors for the Municipal Association of South Carolina.

Mayor Shull was selected during the most recent Municipal Association Annual Meeting, which had been planned for Charleston last week but was condensed to a one-day virtual meeting because of the coronavirus pandemic’s grip on South Carolina.

Mayor Lancer Shull

The association’s 18-member board of directors is made up of both elected and appointed officials and sets policy for the statewide organization that represents the interests of 271 municipal governments and their officials. 

“I am honored to have been nominated and elected to help guide an association dedicated to ensuring the success of communities in South Carolina,” said Mayor Shull. “MASC does amazing work to support towns like Batesburg-Leesville and I’m excited to serve in this greater capacity.”

Mayor Shull will serve a three-year term expiring in July 2023. He joins Mayor Terrence Culbreath from nearby Johnston in Edgefield County and Councilman David McGhee of North Augusta as MASC Board representatives from this area of the state.

“First, let me thank Mayor Osbon of Aiken for the nomination and the sitting board members for the opportunity to serve,” Mayor Shull said. “For me, the honor is in the opportunity. I believe that everything we do in life and everything that happens to us is part of a bigger story. I’m grateful to be a part of that bigger story for B-L and look forward to bringing my assets to the Municipal Association. My service will be on behalf of the people and businesses of B-L and the great state of South Carolina.”

Other members of the MASC Board hail from Edisto Beach, Conway, Georgetown, Travelers Rest, Orangeburg, and Goose Creek, among other communities.

Elected as Mayor of Batesburg-Leesville in 2017, Mayor Shull said he is focused on education, redevelopment, and economic prosperity for our community. He is a former member of the Lexington Three Schools Board of Trustees.

Formed in 1930, the Municipal Association of South Carolina offers its members services, programs, and tools that give municipal officials and staff the knowledge, experience and tools to enable efficient and effective operation of their municipalities in the complex world of municipal government.