Area players named to Touchstone Energy Bowl rosters

Ke’Shoun Williams of Batesburg-Leesville High (1) and Alec Holt of Gilbert High (11) were named Monday to the rosters of the annual Touchstone Energy Bowl for high school all-stars. (TCN Photo illustration / Credits: Sonny Reel & Shanez Padgett)

Two area football standouts have been named to the rosters for the 2019 Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl.

Batesburg-Leesville High’s Ke’Shoun Williams and Gilbert High’s Alec Holt were among the 88 players selected by coaches Monday to make up this year’s teams in the annual all-star high school football game.  Coaches reviewed nearly 450 nominations to come up with the final roster, with 44 players on the South squad and 44 players on the North.

Williams, coached by Panthers head coach Gary Adams, was named to the North All-Star team. Holt, coached by Indians head coach Chad Leaphart, was named to the South All-Star team.

“We’re really excited about the players selected this year, said Keith Richardson, co-coordinator of the Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl. “Not only are they outstanding athletes, they’re also young men of character.”

Chris Miller of Spartanburg High School will lead the North team this year.  Ken Cribb of Johnsonville High School will lead the South squad.  The Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl will take place on Saturday, Dec. 14 at Doug Shaw Memorial Stadium in Myrtle Beach.

From Staff Reports / Published October 21, 2019